That Introductory Post That Everyone With A Blog Seems to Make

What on Earth do people write in their first blog posts that aren’t ridiculously cliche and overdone? Including pointing out that ‘first post’ posts are cliche and overdone?

My name is Ceri, pronounced¬†seh-ree, rhymes with cherry. I’m non-binary, and use gender-neutral they/them pronouns. If you’re having trouble with gender neutral pronouns and how they work grammatically, Minus18¬†has a great little interactive page set up where you can learn how to use different pronouns!

I’ve wanted to be a writer for as long as I remember, and am now studying Creative Writing at Flinders University. Despite how often my friends hear me complain about it, I love it immensely, and am forever grateful I was accepted into this course. It’s given me skills I wouldn’t necessarily have gained otherwise, and some of the best friends in the world. Also they have therapy dogs that come to the uni at the end of every semester and it’s always the best day of my life. There’s this one really tiny chihuahua called Chi Chi and one time I threw an orange tennis ball for him but the ball was too big for his mouth!! He pushed it along with his nose!! It still makes me tear up when I think about it.

I have a cat called Asparagus, who is currently sitting atop my wardrobe, probably looking down on me and wondering if I’m done with my toast yet and whether she can eat what’s left over.

I’ve spent all day today switching between doing my final assignment for the year and setting this website up, which might not’ve been the best idea to try and do when the assignment was two days overdue. It’s done now, though! I’ll probably get a decent mark. Minus 4%. Still good, though. Probably.

I guess it’s always probably a bit boring just reading about another person, especially all this introductory garbage that you’ll forget as soon as you close the tab. Or maybe I’m just a dick. Maybe both?

Anyway, this is getting longer than I intended and I’m bad at ending things so if you’ve actually read this far; why?? Also thanks, mum. I know you read down to here, at least. Creative writing to come! Probably.

Author: oleanderglenie

21 year old trans creative writing student from Adelaide, South Australia.

Leave a Reply

